Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How does TARS work in the KA-50?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Netherlands
       Netherlands
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    756

    Awards Showcase

    Thanks Thanks Given 
    115
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    85
    Thanked in
    50 Posts

    How does TARS work in the KA-50?

    The TARS control panel only allows to change the Guard frequency per sim, however the push to talk keys are a global setting in TARS for VHF AM, FM and UHF.
    In the KA-50 we have VHF 1 and VHF 2 as radios. No UHF as far as I can figure out, but please correct me if I am wrong.

    VHF 2 can be switched between AM and FM mode. VHF 1 cannot (again, correct me if I am wrong).
    Does this mean we use FWD to talk on VHF 1 and BWD to talk on VHF 2 in FM mode?
    Does this work out of the box?

    AWACS/ATC Controller - A-10C Pilot

  2. #2
    Retired pilot Eddie's Avatar
    Oman
       Oman
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    5,269

    Awards Showcase

    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,405
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3,662
    Thanked in
    1,624 Posts
    You use your 'normal' TS PTT when flying the Hokum. You only have 1 PTT in the real pit, so the same is true in sim with TARS.

    As with the A-10C, you can hear transmissions on both radios, HOWEVER, in order to transmit on a specific radio you must have the rotary switch set in the correct position. This means that, unlike in the Hog, you can't jump from one radio to the other as easily.

    As for guard, again the Hokum differs from the Hog. While the Hokum does have a guard receiver, it's tuned to VHF guard (121.500) by default. You need to do a (very easy) edit to one of the .lua files to switch it to 243.000.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Netherlands
       Netherlands
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    756

    Awards Showcase

    Thanks Thanks Given 
    115
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    85
    Thanked in
    50 Posts
    If you update the frequency to UHF 243.000 in the TARS control panel, will this alter the game files?
    If not, then where should one change the setting in the BS2 files?

    AWACS/ATC Controller - A-10C Pilot

  4. #4
    Retired pilot Eddie's Avatar
    Oman
       Oman
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    5,269

    Awards Showcase

    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,405
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3,662
    Thanked in
    1,624 Posts
    No, the TARS setting doesn't affect the sim. I don't remeber the name of the lua file off the top of my head, but it's in the \Scripts\Cockpit\Ka-50\R-800 folder somewhere (or very similar file path, at work so can't check) .

  5. #5
    Founder Rat.NL's Avatar
    Netherlands
       Netherlands
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    882

    Awards Showcase

    Thanks Thanks Given 
    188
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    124
    Thanked in
    61 Posts
    MODULATION_AM = 0
    MODULATION_FM = 1

    modulation_speed = 50
    modulation = MODULATION_FM
    squelch = true
    emergency_radio = false
    adf_function = false
    emergency_frequency = 243000000.0
    something like this, Eddie?

  6. #6
    Retired pilot Eddie's Avatar
    Oman
       Oman
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    5,269

    Awards Showcase

    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,405
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3,662
    Thanked in
    1,624 Posts
    Exactly like that.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Netherlands
       Netherlands
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    756

    Awards Showcase

    Thanks Thanks Given 
    115
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    85
    Thanked in
    50 Posts
    Thanks gentlemen!

    AWACS/ATC Controller - A-10C Pilot

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Like our website?

You can help us by donating to cover our costs.

Many sincere thanks!


Search

Follow us

Twitter Twitter youtube iTunes Subscribe to our Podcast