Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Windows Joystick ID re-mapping

  1. #1
    Member Dojo's Avatar
    United States
       United States
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    2,238

    Awards Showcase

    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,898
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1,671
    Thanked in
    800 Posts

    Windows Joystick ID re-mapping

    Anyone know how to modify the Joystick ID number that Windows assigns to your physical sticks? (sets the order you see in the joy.cpl)

    Surprisingly difficult info to find on the Interweb, hoping one of you have had to tackle this before.

  2. #2
    Member JayPee's Avatar
    Netherlands
       Netherlands
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    490
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    144
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    78
    Thanked in
    60 Posts
    Ehm.. Disconnect all, then reconnect in the order you want them to show up?

  3. #3
    Member Dojo's Avatar
    United States
       United States
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    2,238

    Awards Showcase

    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,898
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1,671
    Thanked in
    800 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JayPee View Post
    Ehm.. Disconnect all, then reconnect in the order you want them to show up?
    No, thanks for the response, but no guessing please. If you don't know, that's fine.

  4. #4
    Junior Member Badger's Avatar
    United States
       United States
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    14
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1
    Thanked in
    1 Post
    You can use the Target Script Editor and run a script to effectively make windows recognize both the stick and throttle as a single controller, would that be of any help?

  5. #5
    Member Dojo's Avatar
    United States
       United States
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    2,238

    Awards Showcase

    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,898
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1,671
    Thanked in
    800 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Badger View Post
    You can use the Target Script Editor and run a script to effectively make windows recognize both the stick and throttle as a single controller, would that be of any help?
    Unfortunately not. That sounds like it might produce a virtual joystick. (like vjoy). Whether it did or didn't, the issue I'm having is because I can't definitively set 4 of my joysticks as the first 4, which I need to in order for CryEngine games to recognize them (currently Star Citizen).

    What you're describing would effectively give me another joystick, a combination of two or more, which would make the problem worse I'm afraid.

  6. #6
    Junior Member StiC's Avatar
    Canada
       Canada
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    31
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    41
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    12
    Thanked in
    10 Posts
    Hey Dojo,
    There is a little tool called JoyID which might help you.
    I haven't used this myself and I believe it supports the Win32 API, but it could be useful depending on what you want to accomplish.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to StiC For This Useful Post:

    Dojo (14May15)

  8. #7
    Member Dojo's Avatar
    United States
       United States
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    2,238

    Awards Showcase

    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,898
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1,671
    Thanked in
    800 Posts
    Indeed... sounds like the exact solution I was looking for, hopefully it's compatible. Will test in the near. future

    Thank you!

  9. #8
    Junior Member StiC's Avatar
    Canada
       Canada
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    31
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    41
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    12
    Thanked in
    10 Posts
    I came across another one this morning. This one seems to create another virtual joystick though, so it might not help much.

  10. #9
    Member Dojo's Avatar
    United States
       United States
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    2,238

    Awards Showcase

    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,898
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1,671
    Thanked in
    800 Posts
    This is interesting. It's ok if creates another stick (virtual) if it lets you assign the physical stick ID, which the GUI appears to do. If I combined all joysticks into one virtual stick, and that one stick was recognized consistently as Joystick #1, problem solved.

    I did some extreme registry hacking to prevent windows from changing the joystick IDs, which feels fragile, though it's been working for now.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Like our website?

You can help us by donating to cover our costs.

Many sincere thanks!


Search

Follow us

Twitter Twitter youtube iTunes Subscribe to our Podcast