Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: TM Warthog Throttle Issue

  1. #1
    Member Recon's Avatar
    United States
       United States
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    362

    Awards Showcase

    Thanks Thanks Given 
    170
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    157
    Thanked in
    99 Posts

    TM Warthog Throttle Issue

    I've started to notice that my right throttle is starting to become looser than my left throttle and I'm losing the ability for fine and precise throttle movements if my throttles are not linked. The friction slider has caused the left throttle to have more resistance but it has no effect on the right throttle. Any ideas or has anyone dealt with this issue?

  2. #2
    Member
    Slovenia
       Slovenia
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    2,507

    Awards Showcase

    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,235
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    730
    Thanked in
    414 Posts
    Open it up and you will immediately see what is wrong.

    You cant mess it up. Screws on the bottom.


  3. #3
    Member Recon's Avatar
    United States
       United States
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    362

    Awards Showcase

    Thanks Thanks Given 
    170
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    157
    Thanked in
    99 Posts
    Is it a tension screw that you gain access to from underneath? You've seen this before? Thanks!

  4. #4
    Member
    Slovenia
       Slovenia
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    2,507

    Awards Showcase

    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,235
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    730
    Thanked in
    414 Posts
    Yes took mine apart twice.

    And as you see from the pic, you get access to whole mechanism. It's robust, only be careful with wires and circuit board.
    Last edited by Energy; 19Dec16 at 18:01.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Energy For This Useful Post:

    Recon (19Dec16)

  6. #5
    Member Recon's Avatar
    United States
       United States
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    362

    Awards Showcase

    Thanks Thanks Given 
    170
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    157
    Thanked in
    99 Posts
    Thanks Energy!

  7. #6
    Member Comrade's Avatar
    United Kingdom
       United Kingdom
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    292

    Awards Showcase

    Thanks Thanks Given 
    141
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    35
    Thanked in
    26 Posts
    Hi Guys, been a while here for me here, hope all is well. I have a TM Warthog throttle problem. My PC is not recognising the driver after years of problem free use. Done the usual and basics of deleting and reinstalling driver with no luck. Reading forums on the DCS site suggest it's the PCB that needs changing. Anyone had experience of this symptom, and/or replacing the PCB. Thanks for any feedback

  8. #7
    76th vFS Pilot Hiccup's Avatar
    United States
       United States
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    751

    Awards Showcase

    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,386
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    772
    Thanked in
    418 Posts
    Hey Comrade. I don't load a driver for my TM Warthog throttle or joystick, as Windows recognizes these devices with no drivers loaded for them, and I don't need the TM driver for my flying.

    Understand that I'm certainly no PC hardware expert, but.... Does Windows Control Panel recognize your throttle as a device, and if so, do the axes and button presses register properly when you test via Control Panel's "Game controller settings"? If not, plug in the throttle to another PC or laptop (don't worry about any drivers) and see if it's recognized as a device on that computer. If neither computer recognizes your throttle as a device, then the problem may be your PCB or USB cable. You'd have to get a new PCB from Thrustmaster or return your throttle for repair, unless you want to do some heavy modification with a different brand of joystick controller board. If Windows does recognize your throttle and its button presses, then it's a DCS or TM driver issue, I'd guess.

  9. #8
    Member Comrade's Avatar
    United Kingdom
       United Kingdom
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    292

    Awards Showcase

    Thanks Thanks Given 
    141
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    35
    Thanked in
    26 Posts
    Thanks for your reply Hiccup. Yeah, maybe my explanation was not too clear. It is Windows that (al of a sudden) does not recognise my Throttle, and there are no green lights illuminated. They flicker now and again. Tried uninstalling the 'Unknown hardware' and then plugging USB back in before powering up ....still no joy. Looking on DCS forums, and there are a few others who have had this problem, and resolved it with a new PCB ordered from TM.
    I just thought I'd pop on here and see if anyone had experienced this within 476th. No worries, I'll get it sorted I'm sure.

    Good to get back on here anyway after a long abscence. I'm working away in the Middle east on Hawks, so have limited internet and decent speeds to fly online with you guys. Planning semi-retirement next Autumn back in UK, so will hopfully be better equipped.

    Thanks again for suggestions.

  10. #9
    76th vFS Pilot Hiccup's Avatar
    United States
       United States
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    751

    Awards Showcase

    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,386
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    772
    Thanked in
    418 Posts
    Good luck in getting your throttle back to normal, Comrade. Sounds like you have a plan. "See" you next Autumn!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Like our website?

You can help us by donating to cover our costs.

Many sincere thanks!


Search

Follow us

Twitter Twitter youtube iTunes Subscribe to our Podcast