Thread: VR users in DCS and in the 476th

United States
       United States
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    1 Post

VR users in DCS and in the 476th

Caveat up front.... this is not intended to be a "VR is better than non-VR" thread. Its not at all.

I'm curious about a couple of things related to VR. I'm very new to DCS and I started with VR from the get go. HTC Vive Pro. I can't imagine flying on a 2D setup, even with trackIR due to the seamless immersion I get with VR. However, it seems most of the demo videos that are posted by the "pros" all seem to be mostly running in 2D. Is that a function of the lower resolution of VR compared to a 4K+ 2D monitor?

So I'm curious of what is the % of DCS and more specifically the 476th users are running with VR vs non-VR users? Are there any compatibility issues with a VR and a non-VR user flying in the same mission together, especially in a 2-ship or 4 ship formation? Or do you guys attempt to keep like with like systems together?

United States
       United States

Awards Showcase

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    445 Posts
    I use TrackIR for two reasons:
    1) I'm 58 and my eyes prefer the better resolution of a flat screen.
    2) My PC would probably be marginal at best if I tried to drive VR.

2a) I really like being able to see my second screen as that's where I have my flight plan, my SRS display and other stuff I want access to while flying.

I've not encountered any issues flying wing on, or leading someone else using VR while I'm on TrackIR

Condom

76th vFS Pilot
    Italy
       Italy

Awards Showcase

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    295 Posts