Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: ILS localizer bar jumps around

  1. #1
    Junior Member Stroke's Avatar
    Canada
       Canada
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    17
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    7
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    ILS localizer bar jumps around

    Is it my incompetence or is this a known bug right now whereby the localizer bar shifts left or right after passing the outer marker?

    I must confess to not having used the DCS ILS very much so far but am very familiar with the procedure from my VATSIM/P3D flying.
    "Learning to fly the Falcon is just your ticket to the dance" - Pete 'Boomer' Bonanni.

  2. #2

    TWOT


    476th vFG Command Staff
    Oliver's Avatar
    Netherlands
       Netherlands
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    2,726

    Awards Showcase

    Thanks Thanks Given 
    601
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1,080
    Thanked in
    657 Posts
    Be sure to set the following:
    • TACAN volume
    • TACAN channel and band
    • ILS volume (turning the volume down to 0 disabled ILS entirely, regardless of other settings)
    • ILS frequency
    • ILS course
    • HSI mode (TCN + PNS)
    • HSI course

    What you're seeing might be because you didn't set the ILS course on the DED. Can't try to reproduce right now.

    A mission’s execution often reflects the quality, discipline, and tone set in the briefing.
    - Chris “Kimos” Haave

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Oliver For This Useful Post:

    Stroke (26Mar20)

  4. #3
    Junior Member Stroke's Avatar
    Canada
       Canada
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    17
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    7
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    All set as you described. I will continue to test but also post on the ED forums.
    "Learning to fly the Falcon is just your ticket to the dance" - Pete 'Boomer' Bonanni.

  5. #4
    Member Florence's Avatar
    United States
       United States
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    108

    Awards Showcase

    Thanks Thanks Given 
    43
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    44
    Thanked in
    30 Posts
    I’ve seen the glide slope bar shift massively up and down despite having everything set correctly and following bars/tadpole

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Florence For This Useful Post:

    Stroke (26Mar20)

  7. #5

    TWOT


    476th vFG Command Staff
    Oliver's Avatar
    Netherlands
       Netherlands
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    2,726

    Awards Showcase

    Thanks Thanks Given 
    601
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1,080
    Thanked in
    657 Posts
    In previous versions of DCS the G/S and LOC bar were overly sensitive according to ED, they have reduced the sensitivity approx. 3 weeks ago IIRC. However, how sensitive oversensitive is and to what extent ED can be trusted to correct it, I can't say.

    A mission’s execution often reflects the quality, discipline, and tone set in the briefing.
    - Chris “Kimos” Haave

  8. #6
    Junior Member Stroke's Avatar
    Canada
       Canada
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    17
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    7
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    I have used ILS for years with FSX, P3D, BMS. Im convinced it is broken in DCSW, at least in the Viper.

    ILS seems okay in the Hornet, on land and at sea.

    In the Viper at Nellis, set to 109.10 for 21L the glideslope wont catch and the localizer is offset by 3-5 degrees.
    Last edited by Stroke; 30Mar20 at 00:11.
    "Learning to fly the Falcon is just your ticket to the dance" - Pete 'Boomer' Bonanni.

  9. #7
    I’m not seeing this behavior. With 109.10 entered as the frequency and Command Steering entered as 208° the Viper ILS hasn’t failed me at Nellis flying in to RWY 21L via the published approach. Cross KRYSS at or about the 8600’ altitude and start a 3° descent from there and the glide slope generally pops in right dead center and the needles are accurate.

    Works fine at Vaziani in the Caucuses as well.

    I honestly haven’t tried other ILSs.

  10. #8
    510th vFS Pilot Swift's Avatar
    United Kingdom
       United Kingdom
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    134

    Awards Showcase

    Thanks Thanks Given 
    61
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    36
    Thanked in
    28 Posts
    Emmy I concur, the few times I have tried vipers ILS on 21L it worked just fine. It felt exactly the same as flying hornet on a case3.

  11. #9
    Junior Member Stroke's Avatar
    Canada
       Canada
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    17
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    7
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Well folks I reckon the issue lies between the keyboard and the chair so I will keep at it. Thanks.
    "Learning to fly the Falcon is just your ticket to the dance" - Pete 'Boomer' Bonanni.

  12. #10

    TWOT


    476th vFG Command Staff
    Oliver's Avatar
    Netherlands
       Netherlands
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    2,726

    Awards Showcase

    Thanks Thanks Given 
    601
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1,080
    Thanked in
    657 Posts
    FWIW, also no issues intercepting the G/S and LOC.

    A mission’s execution often reflects the quality, discipline, and tone set in the briefing.
    - Chris “Kimos” Haave

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Like our website?

You can help us by donating to cover our costs.

Many sincere thanks!


Search

Follow us

Twitter Twitter youtube iTunes Subscribe to our Podcast