Thread: Hello!

United Kingdom
       United Kingdom
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

Hello!

Hello Everyone! In the virtual world I go by "Fisher". This became a thing after I needed a virtual name for another game I was playing a couple years ago. I was a big fan of the Splinter Cell series and decided to name my character after Sam Fisher, and it just kind of stuck around. I've been playing flight-sim since FS 1998, firstly just hopping around Europe in my stock Boeing, following the AI ATC's instructions with no idea of what I was doing. I didn't even know why they kept screaming at me to set my squawk or altimeter?

After many adventures with Orbit airlines I decided to dive a bit more into the logistics behind flying, this because I recently went on holiday across the world (14hr flight) which triggered my interest. After learning that there is much more to flying aircraft then just flying to your destination in a straight line I dove into vatsim, ATC procedures and a lot more. A couple years later a friend of mine brought DCS to my attention, which combined my 2 interests; Aviation and Military. I mean I tried flying F16's before in FSX but it was nothing like when I first started the Flaming cliffs F15 in DCS. I did fly the Flaming cliffs airframes for quite a while till I had the budget as a student to buy the F/A 18C. Quickly after a better HOTAS system, TRACKIR and all that followed. But I felt like the public servers didn't give me what I wanted. I tried communicating with other people on public servers over SRS, even tried controlling via LOTATC but you always had those cowboys taking off from the taxiways etc. It was just not what I was looking for. So I mainly stuck to offline flying.